Seed Sorting and Organisation

Traveling-Seeds-2

 

“I decided to start from scratch and build an organization system that I could follow and stick to. I also wanted it to keep an accurate record to my seeds e.g. cultivar, age of the seed and quantity. I also found that I kept too much of some seeds. For example, I would probably never plant enough Amaranthus to need 1 kilo of seeds in my backyard. At most I’d sprinkle 1-2 tablespoons per season! So my goal was to find a way to also reduce how much I was saving from year to year. If you notice in the photo above, the containers I was using are also inappropriately sized. Most seeds only coated the bottom of empty vitamin bottles and because there are so many shapes and sizes, it was hard to arrange them in the storage cabinet. Marker also tended to rub off of the shiny sticker labels and plastic.”

Source: Garden Connect and Share

Leave a Reply

